The Selling of the Babe
The Deal That Changed Baseball and Created a Legend
(Kindle Edition)

6 products added to cart in last 30 minutes
MRP: ₹1,154.39 Checkout @ Amazon Last Updated: 16-Aug-2018 04:31:24 am
✅ Lowest price available on Amazon

Related Categories

WINNER of the Society for American Baseball Research's (SABR) 2017 Larry Ritter Awardfor best baseball book of the Deadball Era

The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports

The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunes of two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known.

More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including:

-Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert
-Previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale
- Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder

The Selling of the Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire. Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man, The Babe.

AuthorGlenn Stout
BindingKindle Edition
EISBN9781466870000
FormatKindle eBook
LanguageEnglish
Language TypePublished
Number Of Pages305
Product GroupeBooks
Publication Date2016-03-08
PublisherThomas Dunne Books
Release Date2016-03-08
StudioThomas Dunne Books
Sales Rank611827

Bestsellers in Biographies & Autobiographies

Trending Products at this Moment

General information about The Selling of the Babe: The Deal That Changed Baseball and Created a Legend