When Breath Becomes Air
(Hardcover)

3 products added to cart in last 30 minutes
MRP: ₹1,199.00 | Saved: ₹-398 (-39800%) ₹399.00 @ Amazon Last Updated: 13-Jul-2018 10:04:05 pm
✅ Lowest price available on Amazon
✅ Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days
✅ Total 22 new items found

Related Categories

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper’s Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

AuthorPaul Kalanithi
BindingHardcover
EAN9780812988406
Edition1
FormatDeckle Edge
ISBN081298840X
Height775 mm
Length538 mm
Width95 mm
Weight70 g
LanguageEnglish
Language TypePublished
MPN42908918
Number Of Items1
Number Of Pages256
Package Quantity1
Part Number42908918
Product GroupBook
Publication Date2016-01-12
PublisherRandom House
StudioRandom House
UPC642688054472
Sales Rank88622

Bestsellers in Biographies & Autobiographies

Trending Products at this Moment

General information about When Breath Becomes Air Success