The House of Government – A Saga of the Russian Revolution
(Hardcover)

4 products added to cart in last 30 minutes
MRP: ₹2,644.69 | Saved: ₹0 (0%) ₹2,072.00 @ Amazon Last Updated: 08-Aug-2018 07:10:43 am
✅ Lowest price available on Amazon
✅ Usually dispatched within 24 hours
✅ Total 18 new items found
✅ Eligible for Prime
✅ Eligible for Super Saver Shipping

Related Categories

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

AuthorYuri Slezkine
BindingHardcover
EAN9780691176949
ISBN0691176949
Height975 mm
Length625 mm
Width200 mm
LanguageEnglish
Language TypePublished
MPN47161542
Number Of Pages1128
Part Number47161542
Product GroupBook
Publication Date2017-07-28
PublisherPrinceton University Press
StudioPrinceton University Press
Sales Rank132113

Bestsellers in Museums & Museology

Trending Products at this Moment

General information about The House of Government – A Saga of the Russian Revolution